This map is a little different from the previous two. The most striking difference is the inked solid walls. Where before I simply used black paint and an airbrush in Photoshop, with this map I used Micron pens to ink the solid walls by hand. Yes, it takes a while. I find it a bit distracting, and wonder if the solid black airbrush job in Photoshop isn’t a better way to go. What do you think?

I also experimented with textures and layering for the cavern floors here. I feel like this was a successful experiment, as it gives the ground a gritty look that the previous couple of maps didn’t have. Again, what do you think?

Level 2A Gridless

Level 2A Gridless

Level 2A Grid

Level 2A Grid

Level 2 consists of four total maps. I’ll continue with the hand-inked solid walls and textured floors for the entire level to keep things consistent. Depending on the feedback I get, I’ll probably go back to airbrushing in the solid walls using Photoshop when I move on to Level 3.

The encounter maps:

Level 2A Printable Grid a

Level 2A Printable Grid a

Level 2A Printable Grid b

Level 2A Printable Grid b

